The Dutch language version of Donald Duck often contains images of both people and ducks in blackface. As a parent, I find this disturbing. So, I went to the Disney website and read about their guidelines.

drawings with negroid features blackface ducks
Their website contains many documents which affirm how seriously they take discrimination. There is a 24-hour hotline for submitting reports. When I read the guidelines, I was given the impression that I was encouraged to use their system, designed to maintain the highest standards and function as a vehicle for feedback.

So, I submitted once, twice, three times, over a period of 5 months. I have never had a single response from Disney. I have sent emails, used their “anonymous hotline” and filed official reports with illustrated documentation. I submitted the second time because maybe my first report got lost. Then I got curious, so I tried all the avenues, and never got a single response, not even a confirmation that they received my report(s).

It is questionable to profit from a) selling blackface images and b) pretending to be against discrimination and posturing, but I will let them speak for themselves. Here is the language from their site, which it turns out is total greenwash:

The Walt Disney Company incorporates best-in-class business standards as a key pillar of its business practices.
We are committed to a work environment where everyone is afforded the dignity and respect that they deserve. We don’t allow any form of harassment or discrimination on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identification, national origin, age, marital status, covered veteran status, disability, pregnancy or any other basis prohibited by applicable law. If you see or suspect any violation, or feel you, yourself, are a victim of harassment or discrimination, promptly report it.

You can read it for yourself here: Walt Disney Standards of Business Conduct. It actually says “An Unparalleled Commitment…”.

And if you don’t believe me, follow their guidelines and “promptly report it” yourself, at their “Workplace Alert Program“. And see how quickly they ignore you.

And just for laughs, check out the strong and uncompromising language in their BUSINESS AND ETHICS STANDARDS doc.

That’s all folks. Here’s an ad from a Donald Duck comic with some good ‘ol minstrels in blackface. Yee-ha!

ad with real people blackface

